Friends of Grain Elevators

Fort William Elevator

History

The Fort William Elevator, last known as Western Grain By-products, is a gem of an elevator on the north bank of the Kaministiquia River, which empties into Lake Superior. The site includes railway, storage & handling, and water shipping components. The elevator, which received its first shipment in 1913, was a state of the art terminal that incorporated cutting edge construction techniques. The FWE Company ran a full-page ad proudly outlining the terminal’s innovative features.

With a capacity of 1,750,000 bushels, Western Grain has successfully transferred millions of tonnes to receiving ports around the world.

fw-elevator-header

Overview

Date of Opening:

Designer:

Builder:

Initial Owner:

Current Owner:

 

1913

Barnett-McQueen

Barnett-McQueen

Fort William Elevator Company

To be announced

Capacity:

Piles:

Initial Railway Service:

Geographic Coordinates:

 

 

1,750,000 bushels; 48 concrete bins

2,500 locally sources jack pine piles

Canadian Pacific

48.351802399999999

-89.282596300000002

 

 

Scroll to Top